Please can I have a job?

Last month I graduated university with a Journalism degree. It was one of the happiest days of my life as I was pretty scared that graduating was not on my agenda – thankfully it was!

But now that university life is over, it’s time to start being a grown-up and applying for full-time employment – but that’s where there is a problem.

There are thousands, if not millions of graduates all in the same boat as me, many applying for the same jobs as me and many who are simply fed up of not getting reply’s off companies, if not just to say that we’re not compatible for the job– and it doesn’t help that after three years of living away, we are suddenly pushed back into the claustrophobic environment of living with our parents and abiding by THEIR rules after having so much independence at university.

Even before university had finished I was applying for many jobs so I could stay in Cardiff and not move back home, to which I had nothing back and that is the pretty depressing part of the working environment.

Now I’m back home living with my parents, and it’s been 2 months, hundreds of job applications filled in and sent back but how many do you think have got back to me? Only one and I’ve had an interview for that job.

Although I did not get it, I am grateful that it’s given me some kind of joy that people ARE looking at my CV and giving me a chance to prove that I could have what it takes to be a part of their company.

I appreciate that there are so many people who are in the same place as me, looking and searching for jobs that they either don’t want or are perfect for them, yet none of the companies get back to them, I just wish that the employment industry was less harsh on us graduates looking for jobs to start paying off the horrendous amount of student loans we have pilling up with interest.

Watching the Olympics at the start was a daily deal, but right at this moment, I’m slowly becoming bored and irritated staying at home all day, having no money with job links filling my internet search bars.

Please give pity to us poor graduates who are dying for some work and at least email us back with why we aren’t good enough for you!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

